top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMrs. Bright

Finding Our Natural High-Due Oct. 4, 2018


Students will be writing an essay describing their natural high. Essays are due on Thursday, October 4, 2018. Students are encouraged to bring in artifacts that represent their natural highs!


Below are instructions for the essay:

Natural High Essay

Learning Objective.  I will be able to use expository writing to share what I've learned about natural highs, describe my own natural high, explain goals for my future, and describe how I can use my community for support.

Directions. By this time, you have learned about natural and artificial highs, watched several celebrities tell their natural high story (as well as Mrs. Bright), and discussed all of this with your classmates.  Now, you are going to write one culminating essay that describes all of the things you have learned. You will write an expository essay that contains:

I. An Introduction (1 paragraph)

a. Hook: grab the reader's attention

b. Thesis: one statement that presents and summarizes your essay

II. My Natural High (1-2 paragraphs)

a.  Tell your natural high story

b.  Drugs vs. a Natural High: compare a natural and chemical high

III. Role Models and Influences (1-2 paragraphs)

a. Describe a role model you know personally who has impacted your life

b. Describe a significant individual who has influenced you

c.  Personal stories (optional)

IV. My Values and Goals for the Future (1-2 paragraphs)

a.  Describe the values or ideas that are most important to you

b. Explain 1 long-term and 2 short-term goals

V. Conclusion (1 paragraph)




bottom of page